Early Years Foundation Stage

Beckley Preschoool works within the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which enables us to offer diverse opportunities for learning and having fun, both inside and outdoors.

The EYFS is a framework set out by the Government which sets standards for the learning, development and care of children up to the age of five. Please click here for more information from the Gov.UK website. Early years learning concentrates on three prime areas of learning and four specific areas of learning. The three prime areas are:

  • communication and language;
  • physical development; and
  • personal, social and emotional development.

these begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. These three prime areas are fundamental to Early Years education.

The specific areas of learning comprise essential skills and knowledge which allow children to participate successfully in society. They grow out of the prime areas. The four specific areas of learning are:

  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world; and
  • expressive arts and design.

The principles of the EYFS, which guide the work of all early years practitioners, are grouped into four themes:

A Unique Child – every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive relationships – children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environments – children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and carers.

Learning and developing – children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Latest News
Key Information